Breaking News

Video: Why Mbappe wasn’t sidelined in the Nations League final

There was some confusion over Kylian Mbappé’s goal, which ultimately won the Nations League for France, when a Spanish player ruined his own offside trap.

Spain had taken the lead through Mikel Oyarzabal and Karim Benzema’s curler made up for it almost immediately.

Nations League | Spain 1-2 France: Comeback Kings strikes again

Mbappé ran onto Theo Hernandez’s through ball and defeated Unai Simon one on one, which turned out to be the winner.

Repetitions indicated that Mbappé was sidelined as he was clearly not on par with Eric Garcia.

However, it was Eric Garcia who ruined his own offside trap by hitting the pass with a failure and getting a small touch.

That deliberate touch reset the game and meant Mbappé was not offside as a result.

Spanish media considered it a “scandal” but the rules of the game state that Eric Garcia played the ball on purpose.

If he had just let the passport pass, it would not have been allowed.

Former referees and now television experts Luca Marelli and Tiziano Pieri both declare that this is the correct reading of the rules, although they may not like the current interpretation of the rules.

Leave a Reply