Breaking News

Fécafoot elections and dual citizenship law: Samuel Eto’o received in audience with the President of the Constitutional Court

Perhaps aware of the fact that his candidacy for the presidency of the Cameroonian Federation may be rejected, Samuel Eto’o Fils was successful in the audience with the President of the Constitutional Council of Cameroon. While some observers believe that these steps are in reality nothing more than intrigue, manipulation, influencing for their own benefit, others believe that these represent ways of doing things that, if the Pichichi are successfully chosen, threaten to normalize.

Clément Atangana is the one who prevailed over all opposition candidates in the last presidential election in Cameroon by dismantling all their demands point by point.

Is the Constitutional Council qualified to deal with Fécafoot matters? ?

Perhaps not, but Clément Atangana’s voice carries and can create an imbalance of forces in favor of Mr. Eto’o.

To fully understand the role of this institution, see below:

The Constitutional Council

The Constitutional Council is one of the new institutions created by Law No. 96/06 of January 18, 1996 revising the Constitution of June 2, 1972 (amended by Law No. 2008/001 of April 14, 2008).

The constitution defines it in its article 46 as the competent body for constitutional questions. It regulates the constitutionality of laws. It is the regulatory authority for the functioning of the institutions. It governs sovereignly in its areas of responsibility, which relate, among other things, to the following points:

  • The constitutionality of laws, treaties and international agreements ;
  • Rules of Procedure of the National Assembly and the Senate ;
  • Assignment conflicts between state institutions ; between state and regions ; between regions.

Article 48 provides that the Constitutional Council ensures the regularity of the presidential and parliamentary elections and referendum consultations. The Constitutional Council announces the results of its consultations.

Article 51 provides that the Constitutional Council shall consist of eleven (11) members, appointed for a term of six (6) years, which may be renewed. These members appointed by the President of the Republic are appointed as follows:

  • Three including the President of the Council from the President of the Republic ;
  • Three by the President of the National Assembly on the advice of the Bureau ;
  • Three by the President of the Senate on the advice of the Bureau ;
  • Two from the Supreme Council of the Magistrature.

Leave a Reply